2023 Spec MX-5 Shootout Nominees Announced

Following the announcement of MX-5 Cup Shootout Nominees, Mazda Motorsports is pleased to unveil its list of nominees for the 2023 Spec MX-5 Shootout. Those chosen as finalists from the list will move on to the Shootout where two drivers will be selected as Mazda Club Racing factory drivers.

Now in its fourth year, the Spec MX-5 Shootout was created to help young drivers make the transition from karting to sports cars. Many winners of the Spec MX-5 Shootout have gone on to win the MX-5 Cup Shootout.

The two drivers selected to be part of the Mazda Factory Team will get to compete at select SCCA Hoosier Super Tour events in the Spec MX-5 class, recently elevated to a SCCA National category. They will receive a full arrive-and-drive season that this year will include the SCCA Runoffs, plus testing and a racing school. All entry fees and consumables are covered, along with a travel budget, a car damage budget, and more.

“The Spec MX-5 Shootout was created to give aspiring racers a viable path to a professional career,” Mazda Motorsports Business Development Manager Josh Smith said. “Many of these kids are so focused on open-wheel or stock car racing, they don’t realize the wealth of opportunities in sports car racing. Now that Spec MX-5 is a SCCA National Class, the path from karting to professional racing is clearer and we love helping talented up-and-comers achieve their dream.”

Following an online meeting with Mazda Motorsports, each nominee is invited to submit a video application stating why they should become a finalist. These applications must include each driver’s plan to create a long-lasting racing career, including how they would attract additional funding.

2023 Spec MX-5 Shootout Nominees:

  • Aidian Fox  
  • Alex Stanfield  
  • Annie Rhule 
  • Aryton Grim
  • Austin Hill
  • Baley Cruse
  • Blake Nash  
  • Brenna Schubert 
  • Christian Miles
  • Collin Lloyd 
  • Cooper Shipman
  • Corbin Collins
  • Dalton Hanes
  • Ethan Goulart 
  • Ethan Jacobs
  • Finnegan Bayliff
  • Helio Meza
  • Henry Wheeler  
  • Hudson Schwartz 
  • Ivanna Richards  
  • Jared Korth
  • Jeyson Herrera 
  • Justin Adakonis  
  • Kamden Hibbitt
  • Macy Williams
  • Mario Gil
  • Mia Leroux
  • Rafe Abdulali
  • Rayne Thompson 
  • Rocco Pasquarella
  • Spencer Conrad
  • Taylor Tecco 
  • Zak Meyer

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: