Graphical Outline Of 4 Paths To Spec MX-5 Challenge Championship

Excitement is rising around the 2020 Spec MX-5 Challenge Series. Todd Launchbaugh, an experienced California driver, expressed what many drivers have mentioned: “I wanted to make a move into a new series.  My first choice was to stay with Mazda because of all of the support they have provided to us and our fellow racers.” Part of that support is Spec MX-5 Challenge. To cater to a variety of needs,  there are four basic paths to the Spec MX-5 Challenge Championship:

• East Regional Series

• West Regional Series

• National Series

• Invitational Option

In each path, drivers run in Spec MX-5 Challenge Marquee events. In each path, drivers score points against other drivers in the same series (East vs. East, National vs. National etc.) Drivers then bring their carryover points to a single Championship event where all series drivers are running against each other for additional points. Details are shown below:

Screen Shot 2019-12-19 at 3.46.38 PM

Screen Shot 2019-12-19 at 3.48.10 PM

Screen Shot 2019-12-19 at 3.48.47 PM

Screen Shot 2019-12-19 at 3.49.19 PM

Additional details can be found in the 2020 Sporting Regulations: Spec-MX-5-Challenge-Sporting-Regulations-081920v30.2

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: